Conroe Texas Criminal Defense Attorney

936.760.0303

Case Results
Criminal Defense Practice Areas
Criminal Defense
Criminal Expunction
Drug Crimes
DWI
Drug DWI
Field Sobriety Tests
Multiple DWI
MIP / MIC / PI
Motions to Revoke Probation
Non Disclosure
Sex Crimes
Theft Crimes
Traffic Tickets
Violent Crimes
Weapons Crimes
White Collar Crimes
Contact Us
NAME:
EMAIL:
PHONE:
--
TELL US ABOUT YOUR CASE:
322 Metcalf Street, Conroe, TX 77301

936.681.0031

Click here to see our latest news.
Watch our videos.
Conroe Texas Criminal Defense Lawyer Why Hire Doug Atkinson Why Hire Doug Atkinson Fees & Payments Case Results Contact Us

Conroe DWI Defense Lawyer

Understanding Your Driving While Intoxicated Charge

In the state of Texas, a person commits the offense of driving while intoxicated if they are intoxicated while operating a motor vehicle in a public place.
"Intoxicated" means:

  • not having the normal use of mental or physical faculties by reason of the introduction of alcohol, a controlled substance, a drug, a dangerous drug, a combination of two or more of those substances, or any other substance into the body; or
  • having an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more.

If a law enforcement officer has reasonable suspicion that a person is driving while intoxicated, he may make a traffic stop. During the traffic stop, the officer will examine the driver for signs of intoxication. If the officer has reason to suspect that the driver is intoxicated, they may ask the driver to consent to a breath alcohol test and/or field sobriety tests. If the driver has a blood alcohol level of 0.08% or higher, or if the person fails his/her field sobriety tests, the officer may make a DWI arrest.

Please see attorney Doug Atkinson’s D.W.I./D.U.I. website for information at www.conroedwi.com.

Defense for License Suspension Throughout Montgomery County

Once a driver has been arrested for DWI, he/she will be asked to submit to another blood, breath or urine alcohol test after he/she has been brought to the police station. If the person’s blood alcohol level is 0.08% or greater, or if the person refuses to submit to the blood alcohol test, he/she will be served with a Notice of Suspension and provided with a temporary driver’s permit.

From the time of the driver’s arrest, he/she only has 15 days to schedule an ALR hearing to contest the suspension of his/her driver’s license. If the driver does not schedule his/her hearing, his/her driver’s license will remain suspended for ninety days to two years.

Time is of essense. Call the Conroe DWI lawyer immediately if arrested for an alcohol related offense to protect your driver’s license!

Fighting for the Best Chance of Freedom

Any person who is convicted of DWI may be sentenced with:

  • Jail time
  • Fines
  • Community service
  • Probation
  • Mandatory rehabilitation

DWI crimes may be classified as a misdemeanor or a felony offense depending on the circumstances. Classification depends on whether:

  • The defendant has prior DWI convictions
  • There was a child in the vehicle
  • There was an accident
  • Someone was injured / killed as a result

The penalty range for DWI, therefore, can range from probation or 180 days in county jail to life in prison. Additionally, the person may lose his/her right to drive in the State of Texas.

Criminal Defense in Montgomery & Walker County

When clients come to Doug Atkinson, they get exactly what they deserve – a well-respected and powerful criminal defense lawyer who can provide them with the quality legal representation that their case deserves. To find out more about defending yourself from DWI charges and fighting to save your driving privileges, call the Conroe criminal defense attorney from the firm today.

Contact a Conroe criminal defense lawyer from the firm without delay.